Doodles from the Weekend: Graffiti Experimentation

December 9, 2008 at 3:59 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

I study tip I wish I was aware of before the end of the semester:

Making flashcards -before- you read the chapter.

I don’t know why, but it’s a lot more helpful. Guess I have an attack plan for next semester.

It’s been so nice to just stay in and draw and do crafts. I wanted to share some of my recent doodles from the weekend:

Photobucket

Photobucket

I love the graffiti look. Whenever I get the chance to browse through graffiti galleries, I am just stunned. There is so much creativity in reinventing the shapes of letters and playing with colors and using bold, dynamic lines to convey statements or imagery. I’m in love with the style but I’ve never been able to dabble in it; the range of styles was just too overwhelming.

I came across this incredibly simple lettering tutorial one day and just ran with it. I’ve been trying out new ways to write my name and initials ever since. 🙂

Photobucket

I liked the little singer in the lower right so much that I drew her again:

Photobucket

Photobucket

I drew a little chibi version of myself~! In the upper right corner is a little character I created some time ago, Heart-chan, and the rest are random little doodles.

Photobucket

I usually draw a lot of anime but I’ve been trying out a new, more cartoony and caricature-esque style lately. It’s nice to step out of my usual zone and test out a new style. I like that I have a wider range of shapes to play with. I named this one “bikini contest.” I was experimenting with different body shapes.

Photobucket

More doodles I did while watching Will & Grace. By the way, the little figure towards the lower left is the beginnings of a squid before I decided I didn’t want to draw the tentacles, nothing else. LOL Don’t ask me why I randomly drew a US Government logo …

Photobucket

More chibi-me. 🙂 And there I am wielding my color medium of choice: the Prismamarker!

That’s all I have for today. 🙂 I love all this free time, though. I’m going to have to make sure it’s being put to good use!

By the way, I found a really useful web tool today: Remindr. So glad someone came up with this! ❤

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ah! these are all so good! 🙂 the chibis are quite cute… I know it sounds bad, but i think the crying one is my fave. it just cracks me up! 🙂

    • LOL! Glad you like them~! ^^


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

